What is Raw Honey

“Raw honey” refers to the honey directly obtained from the bee hive, without any additional processing. It is a 100% natural product, containing the most nutrition and health benefit to a human body. People back in ancient Egypt also consume honey as a part of their health diet.

For the honey you could find in chain store supermarkets, all of them are not referring to “raw honey”. Due to the reason including storage and outlook, the honey are treated by heating and artificial processing, as a result, the most nutritive enzymes and antioxidants are lost during the process.

Production of “raw honey” takes time. It requires the beekeeper maintaining a good natural habitat around the bee hives, ensuring no pesticides, and planting the right flowers for bees. Therefore, raw honey are relatively limited in supply and more precious.

From Hive to Bottle

In recent years, people all over the world have been paying greater attention to their own health, starting from choosing the right food ingredients. Many foods nowadays are processed and may contain different chemical additives, preservatives, hormones and antibiotics. Those foods are not only unhealthy, but studies have shown that they have a bad impact on human health in the long run.

As a result, many people start looking on the food source, searching for organic and natural products. A concept from the western, “From farm to table”, are very popular among health conscious people, the action refers to direct access to natural raw materials from a local farmer, which can support local production as well as eating healthy.

“Hong Kong Raw Honey” also adopt the idea “From hive to bottle”, which brings 100% Hong Kong-made high-quality fresh raw honey to our customer directly.

香港蜂蜜品牌

Awards & Testings

Hong Kong Raw Honey is now managed by the founder Lancelot and Master Ye. Master Ye is a traditional beekeeper in Hong Kong, his bee farms, located in Lantau Island and Yuen Long, have operated in Hong Kong for more than 30 years. The bee farms have been producing honey in a totally natural way, without the use of antibiotics, no sugar, no heat compression. Providing natural fresh honey, 100% made in Hong Kong.

The honey produced by the bee farms have won a series of awards and recognition:

– Best Made In Hong Kong Product (issued by Natural & Organic Awards Asia)

– SGS Certification – Honey Nutrition and HMF Testing

– STC certification – Organochlorine pesticide testing

Urban beekeeping, sustainability

Mentioning bees, you may only think of honey. However, many Hong Kong people may not know that bees are of great importance in the planet’s ecological system, as well as to the edible crops. According to research data, more than one-third of the crop, or more than 70% of the food consume by human, need to rely on bee pollination, in order to become food. Therefore, if bees disappear, humans may face the food shortages and rise in food prices.

Bees are indicator of local pollution level. In Hong Kong, because of massive urbanization, bees are rarely seen. When bees do not have a suitable living environment, they will leave and not stay in the place. In a wealthy society, shall we reconsider if our value is sustainable, or is beneficial to the world as a whole?

Through the bees, we also hope to arouse people’s attention to environmental protection and natural species’ diversification.

honey and cheese platter

CONTACT US

Phone: +852 5410 4196

Email: bee@vonbiene.com.hk

原蜜與一般蜜糖分別

「原蜜」是指直接從蜂巢提取的蜜糖,中間不經過任何額外加工過程,故此可以保留最多、也對人體最有益的營養。古代人食用蜜糖,作爲食療養生,也是屬於「原蜜」。

市面上連鎖店可以買到的,均不屬於原蜜。為易於保存,大部分都經過加熱、人為加工等處理,蜂蜜裏最有營養價值的酵素與抗氧化成分都會因加熱而消失。

「原蜜」的製作需要更長時間,也要求養蜂環境的配合,不含農藥、有天然蜜源等,故此產量相對不多,供應有限,所以不會在連鎖店見到。

由蜂巢直接入樽

世界各地的人,近年來都對健康進一步關注,希望可以自己選擇有益的食材。因爲現今的食品,很多都含有不同的化學添加物、防腐劑、激素和抗生素等。那些食物不但無益,研究更顯示長遠對健康有不良影響。

很多人從源頭出發,尋找有機、天然食物。其中一個概念“From farm to table”尤其流行,意思是直接從一個本地農民,直接拿到天然的原材料,既可以支持本土生產,也可以吃得更加健康。

「香港原蜜」也奉行“From hive to bottle”,直接把100%香港製造的優質原蜜,把蜂巢的新鮮蜂蜜,直接帶給客人。

香港養蜂師傅

信心保證及獎項認可

「香港原蜜」 的養蜂場,由80後創辨人Lancelot和葉師傅一起打理。葉師傅是香港的傳統蜂農,其蜂場設於大嶼山和元朗,在香港已經有30多年經營歷史,一直以來都是以天然方式出產蜂蜜。堅持不用抗生素、不摻糖、不加熱壓縮,製作香港本地,真正純天然原蜂蜜。

養蜂場出產的蜂蜜,更獲一系列的獎項及認可:

– Best Made In Hong Kong Product (由Natural & Organic Awards Asia頒發)

– SGS認證 – 蜂蜜營養及HMF測試

– STC認証 – 有機氯農藥測試

永續保育,城市養蜂

關於蜜蜂,大家可能只想起蜜糖。但是,很多香港人可能不知道,其實蜜蜂在地球生態圈和對世界上農作物,有著舉足輕重的重要性。研究數據上,在人類的食物中,有超過三分之一種類的農作物、或70%以上的食物量,需要仰賴蜜蜂授粉才能有收成。故此,如果蜜蜂消失,人類可能要面臨糧食短缺、食物價格上升的後果。

蜜蜂是一個地方生態污染的指標,在香港,因爲大量的城市化,很少會見到大量蜜蜂。蜜蜂沒有合適的生存環境,導致蜜蜂數量減少,值得我們反思,一直以來崇尚物質的生活方式及價值觀,是否需要調整。我們的日常食物來源,在一個富庶的社會裏面,大家又認識多少。

透過可愛的蜜蜂,我們也希望喚醒大家對環境保護和物種多樣性的關注。

CONTACT US

Phone: +852 5410 4196

Email: bee@vonbiene.com.hk

honey and cheese platter

大潭鴨腳木蜜 (冬蜜)

金桔蜜餞鹹酸甜滋味